Articles

Our 5'7" monster is back – van Persie has the right attitude

In Arsenal FC on September 25, 2009 by Highbury N5 Editor

Nope, not the Gunnersaurus, the little man next to him, Andrey Arshavin. He offers another dimension to the team and is one of those players that when you see their name on the team-sheet you are either very wary of them, or excited to be alongside them. Of course, depending on what side you are on.

We have an array of attacking talent at the club, that is beyond doubt. There are not many clubs in Europe that can boast the talent of van Persie, Arshavin, Eduardo, Bendtner, Walcott and Vela in the striking department. If that attack clicks the opposition are in trouble, especially if Fabregas is on his game in midfield, add Rosicky and Nasri into that creative mix and we have a lot of strength and depth there.

Tomorrow we make the short trip along the Thames to Craven Cottage to take on Fulham, and we all know what happened there last season at a similar time and it was that very result that spurred me to start this blog, my first post being on that game.

One player who was off his game that day was Robin van Persie, who after the game said that the attitude amongst the players was just not right that day, speaking yesterday he said that this time around things are different and the same mistakes will not happen again:

“I had a look at the fixtures coming up and on paper they look all right but we lost to Fulham last year and it is very, very tough.

“I saw their game against Everton and they were very decent and it was a very good goal from Damien Duff It’s going to be hard but as long as we can put the pressure on the opponent, play together and share the goals then I’m quite confident.”

Going into that game last August the team seemed lethargic, lazy and toothless. We were shorn on the services of Fabregas due to injury and nobody stepped in to fill the breach, if my memory serves me right Eboue was probably our most dangerous player that day.

Another player making a return may be Theo Walcott who has not featured so far this season and has hardly had any pre-season of note. In the past year his injury record has been pretty poor, since last November when he suffered that shoulder injury he has only appeared in a handful of games. He is confident he is back stronger than ever though:

“I think my game was going to a new level before I got injured but you always get the odd injury, hopefully this will be my last one.

“I haven’t had much of a pre-season or any games. I’ve had 45 minutes and that’s it – it will take me a few games to get back into the flow but I am raring to go and I am sure it will come.”

Hopefully it is his last one… imagine that, a player with no more injuries from the age of 20 right up until they retire. Impressive. Anyway, he reckons the new 4-3-3 formation will suit his game after playing in a similar system in the Southampton youth teams:

“The boss has changed the formation to 4-3-3 and I think that will help us play more attacking football and free me up down that right side,” said Walcott.

“I played for Southampton Under-17s in a 4-3-3 formation on the right wing and I really enjoyed it. It gives me the chance to go and attack defenders and I can’t wait to get back into the team and show what I can do.”

I think its the ideal formation for him, he is too young to play central in a 4-4-2 according to Arsene and is better off learning his game out wide. Well in the 4-3-3 he is not too central and is kind of out wide so everyone’s a winner, right? In all seriousness he is a major asset to the team, he is the only real speed merchant in the final third and using him as a outlet worked pretty well last season, especially at the start.

Theodore also natters on about taking inspiration from Thomas Rosicky’s comeback after 20 months out, don’t jynx it you little rascal.

Theres some stuff thats popped up on arsenal.com about the finances and why Wenger has not spent any of the profit from the sales of Adebayor and Toure, hes said its his money to do what he wants with.

I guess if I’d just made a 22 million profit on a lanky greedy stamping kneeslidey streak of piss like he did I might be tempted to keep it.

“ITS MINE I TELLS YA, ITS ALL MINE!”

It also seems that Arshavin wants to join in freshers week with all the students.

ArshythefresherJokes aside, I really thought that was what the title was when I first clicked onto the site, ‘Arshavin: I will be a fresher now’. He looks about old enough to get served anyway.

Thats about it today, you can hear Young Guns’ Jamie Sanderson making his Arsecast debut over on Arseblog today. Go listen. He’s talking about his blog, the kids, and stuff. Its all interesting and worth a listen.

More tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

